Lutheranlady's Weblog


Show me the way: Scripture of the Week Reflections July 3
July 3, 2017, 12:01 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Genesis 24: 42“I came today to the spring, and said, ‘O Lord, the God of my master Abraham, if now you will only make successful the way I am going! Jesus,Savior,Pilot Me


Read more of the text here: http://bible.oremus.org/?ql=366095659 or read all of Genesis 24.

In this passage, we hear Abraham’s servant speaking. He’s been sent back to the homeland to find a wife for Abraham’s son Isaac. He doesn’t spare any details as he explains how he was sent, prayed for God to show him a sign, and came across Rebekah, who fulfilled the sign he had asked for. Even as Rebekah offered water as the servant had prayed, he continues to pray, asking God to show him if this is the right woman to be Isaac’s wife.

I can almost hear his heart nervously beating to his prayer: “O Lord, the God of my master Abraham, if now you will only make successful the way I am going!”

How often has my own prayer been a frazzled plea, “help me, God!” as I try to do something I’m  not sure I can, or try to make the right decision when a choice is before me.

(Maybe don’t) Ask my husband, and he’ll tell you that I’m the worst at making decisions. I get overwhelmed by all the choices at a restaurant. I would buy 4 dresses for a high school formal, and then return them all before settling on my final pick.

So, I’d love it if I could say God always make the big decisions easy- with a booming voice or an obvious sign. Too bad for me, I don’t really think God always works like that. I think God meets us in whatever path we take, rather than having set one right path that we had better not miss. But if there’s no one right path, how do we know which way to take?

There are prayer practices I find helpful in discernment. I talk to God about the choices before me. I journal. I talk to friends or my spiritual director. I live a day or longer as if I had made one selection, and notice how I am feeling and living. Then, I spend the same amount of time as if I had made the other selection. After considering in which commitment I felt most alive, I choose. Ignatian’s daily examen has been helpful. In this prayer, you replay your day, noticing where there was joy and wholeness, where there was struggle and you felt distant from God. It’s about noticing in order to align your life more fully to God’s purpose for all of creation. After giving thanks and asking for forgiveness, I place all of the past into God’s hands, and entrust my future to God as well.

I share this as an invitation for you to explore how you connect to God during times of transition, choices, and daily life. If you’d like some resources for prayer, I’d love to chat with you.

I’m not much for clichés, but “when one door closes, another door opens” makes sense to me in that God continues to open doors for us. God gives many opportunities to recognize God is with us and to follow God’s call into loving service for the sake of the world. There’s no one-time-you-missed-it-too-bad-so-sad with God. I have faith that there are many paths that can take us towards God’s desire for us. God is always at work to come to us and bring us into the Kingdom and the work of the Kingdom here and now.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

